Photo: Rüdiger Kroh

LifetimeSolutions: the right services on the right time

The focus of the new service concept is on one hand on concrete customer needs, and on the other hand on the three stages of the machine life cycle: start-up, production, modernization.

From left: Frank Geiselhart, Director Global Service CHIRON, Alexander Dörner, Head of Service STAMA and Frank Egidi, Manager Service SCHERER

The extensive knowledge of CHIRON, STAMA and SCHERER about these phases forms the basis of LifetimeSolutions: How does the machine behave with progressive age? Which production-specific specifications must it fulfil when? With LifetimeSolutions, the service specialists develop a precisely coordinated strategy, can provide even more targeted support than before, and offer suitable products and services at an early stage.

Learn more:

For more information, see the article NC-Fertigung Topic of the Week 8/2020 (german) and our Website or the new service brochure.

Welcome to the future: CHIRON Precision Factory

»With the new Precision Factory, CHIRON has clearly proven that it is actively pursuing the challenges of the 21st century,« according to Dr. Nicole Hoffmeister-Kraut MdL, Minister for Economics, Labor and Housing for Baden-Württemberg, in her speech at the opening ceremony.


The minister continued: »That's because this factory combines the very best that our machine tool industry in Baden-Württemberg has to offer: Machines which combine the highest productivity with the highest precision and thereby set standards for the digital age.«

Unique factory for unique machines

Since August 2019, the CHIRON Precision Factory, the biggest single investment in the company's history at EUR 34.5 million, has been offering the best and, above all, very stable framework conditions for the construction of up to 400 machining centers per year. Currently, CHIRON's tried-and-tested series 15 and 18 as well as the two new series 16 and 25 are being produced in Neuhausen ob Eck. Assembly of series 22 will begin soon. This new series is ideally suited to the precise, dynamic machining of large components in the automotive and precision mechanics industries.

Optimized assembly and logistics processes for shorter delivery times

The machining centers that are constructed in the CHIRON Precision Factory are not only characterized by maximum precision, but also by faster availability. The machines are produced in a cluster assembly process – one team, one machine – in shorter cycles. For each order, the optimized processing saves about two to three weeks of time, so that customers can get started with production sooner. And better too, thanks to advance simulation of processes: All machining which is later carried out on the machine can be programmed, simulated and optimized right in the Precision Factory.

CHIRON campus at the Neuhausen plant

The fact that CHIRON has accepted and understood the challenges of the future is clear not only from the Precision Factory itself, but also by the way in which it was achieved. It took just 15 months from the ground-breaking ceremony to the official opening. The pioneering project was successfully completed within the specified time frame and budget.

The also new central logistics department at the Neuhausen plant combines the CHIRON Precision Factory with the existing assembly halls to form a CHIRON campus.

»We counteracted the currently difficult market situation with state-of-the-art machines and increased productivity. We therefore remain competitive in the long term and can further expand our position in the current growth sectors of aerospace and medical engineering.«
Bernd Hilgarth
Sales Director at CHIRON

The CHIRON Precision Factory in full swing

CHIRON Precision Factory - Facts

Construction time

July 2018 to September 2019 (ready for occupancy)

Key building data

  • Capacity: Maximum of 400 machines per annum
  • Production area: 9,000 m²
  • Logistics area: 2,500 m²
  • Office area: 2,200 m²
  • Total area of the new building: 13,700 m²
  • Total existing space: 17,000 m²

Layout

  • Optimal material flow configuration with logistics spine for all flows of people and materials
  • Centralized final assemblies, engineering offices and logistics areas
  • Central order picking of machines and systems

Building services engineering

  • Concrete core activation for even and exact temperature control
  • Use of waste heat from machines
  • Ventilation systems with heat recovery
  • LED lighting
  • Total energy consumption 70 kWh per m² and per annum

Digitalization

  • Smart Factory Cockpit: Control of air-conditioning, lighting and camera systems
  • Digital assistance systems in assembly
  • Contactless logistics bookings
  • Digital quality testing and assurance ("digital fingerprint")
Photo: Matthias Keller

The best view comes after the hardest climb.

Matthias Keller, Head of Technical Application at CHIRON, is convinced: To be successful, you need a positive attitude, a strong team by your side and the willingness to do more. And that's also how he approaches his sporting career as a snowboarder on the German paralympic A-squad.

Mr Keller, you completed your apprenticeship as an industrial mechanic in equipment and precision engineering in 1998 and have been Technical Application Manager since 2019. You have also been a para snowboarder since 2017. Are there any similarities between being a manager and being a snowboarder?

Certainly, there are a lot: It is always good to keep a clear head – whether in your everyday job, at the World Cup or when touring. I always take a considered approach and examine the facts carefully. I think that this is the only way of making sound and correct decisions. Anything else, whether on my own in the outdoors or as a manager with responsibility for my team, would be rather negligent.

How would you describe your role as a manager? What do you consider to be particularly important and who do you take your inspiration from?

Loyalty, treating one another fairly and having an excellent team spirit. That's the example my former manager set every day, and that's what I'm trying to continue. I also see myself as a "guide", steering everything and everyone in the right direction, so that we achieve success. I also find it important for each person to identify with his or her tasks and to approach new challenges with a positive attitude.

Your motto is "The best view comes after the hardest climb." Can you explain this in more detail?

Well, I had a serious motorcycle accident and had to have my lower leg amputated. Dealing with this was and is a big challenge and changed a lot of things for me. But now I know what you can achieve if you follow your goals consistently. And that also motivates me as a manager. I don't see difficulties, just new opportunities.

One of these possibilities outside of CHIRON has been snowboarding in the German Paralympic team. What are your sporting aims? 

Competition is strong, and with some countries investing a lot of money, the majority of athletes are professionals. Team Germany was only formed after the last Paralympics. Our budget is very small and all our athletes and assistants are in employment, so we only take part in individual races. But we still want to be at the front of the field, perhaps achieving a place in the top 10. And of course we all want to go to Beijing for the Paralympics 2022.

Para Snowboard

Matthias Keller starts in the Lower Limb 2 class in two disciplines: Snowboard-cross (SBX) and banked slalom.

In SBX, each athlete first descends on their own against the clock, then, from the last sixteen onward, it is head to head. The course includes racing and freestyle elements. In the banked slalom, the snowboarders descend slopes with gradients of up to 35 percent on a course prepared with steep turns. All participants compete twice against the clock, the quickest run counting.

How do you juggle training, a job and your private life? It sounds like a sport in itself!

I prioritize and focus on the essential. Everyday work is intensive, for sure, but sport is a perfect balance for me. I see every task facing me as a chance to improve.

What motivates you other than your sporty approach?

Life itself is the greatest motivation. There are so many beautiful moments that I have worked towards again after the amputation. For example, the feeling of standing on top of a mountain – indescribable! The climb may be tough, but it is always worth it. Every day has the potential to be a good day. In sport, at home and at work.

For more information on the German Para Snowboard Team:

https://www.teamdeutschland-paralympics.de/de/athleten.html

 Matthias Keller in competition mode at the World Cup. Image: Luc Percival Photography
Matthias Keller in competition mode at the World Cup. Image: Luc Percival Photography

Career summary

1998    Completed training as an Industrial Mechanic at CHIRON as best in the year

2001    Employee in Manufacturing

2003    National service with the German Red Cross

2004    Application Engineer in Applications at CHIRON

2008    Application Engineering Team Leader

2015    Application Engineering Manager

2019    Application Manager

Photo: © de.signbar

Thumbs up for many followers!

And there are more every day: After nearly two years, the CHIRON Group's "fan club" on LinkedIn now has more than 3,500 followers and is fast approaching 4,000.

Every day, more and more LinkedIn users take the opportunity to access fast, compact and highly topical information about trade fairs and events, the CHIRON Group, the activities of the companies and representations worldwide, training and careers. And of course news about products and services.

For example, information about the new series 22, which recently became the focus of a social media campaign. Those involved in the project give insights into the personal experiences and challenges they faced during the development process.

Do you like what we post on LinkedIn? Then speak to us and about us, rate the articles, comment on them – we want to know what you think.

Do you want to be part of our network? Simply "tick" to follow us: LinkedIn:

And brand new: Since February, you can also find us on Instagram: Instagram:

Bild: Rüdiger Kroh

LifetimeSolutions: die richtigen Services zur richtigen Zeit

Im Fokus des neuen Servicekonzepts stehen zum einen die konkreten Kundenbedürfnisse, zum anderen die drei Phasen des Maschinen-Lebenszyklus: Starten, Produzieren, Modernisieren.

(im Bild v.li.: Frank Geiselhart, Leiter Global Service CHIRON, Alexander Dörner, Leiter Service STAMA und Frank Egidi, Leiter Service SCHERER )

Das umfangreiche Wissen von CHIRON, STAMA und SCHERER über diese Phasen bildet die Basis der LifetimeSolutions: Wie verhält sich die Maschine mit fortschreitendem Alter? Welche produktionsspezifischen Vorgaben muss sie wann erfüllen? Mit LifetimeSolutions erarbeiten die Servicespezialisten eine exakt abgestimmte Strategie, können noch gezielter als bisher unterstützen, passende Produkte und Leistungen frühzeitig anbieten.

Mehr Erfahren:

Mehr erfahren Sie über die LifetimeSolutions im Artikel von NC Fertigung  01-02/2020 sowie auf unserer Website und in der neuen Service-Broschüre.

Willkommen Zukunft: CHIRON Precision Factory eröffnet

»Mit der neuen Precision Factory zeigt die Firma CHIRON eindrucksvoll, dass sie die Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts tatkräftig umsetzt«, so Dr. Nicole Hoffmeister-Kraut MdL, Ministerin für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Wohnungsbau Baden-Württemberg, in ihrer Festrede zur Eröffnung.


Die Ministerin fuhr fort: » Denn in dieser Fabrik kommt das Beste, was unsere baden-württembergische Werkzeugmaschinenbranche zu bieten hat, zusammen: Maschinen, die höchste Produktivität mit höchster Präzision verbinden und dabei Standards für das digitale Zeitalter setzen.«

Einzigartige Fabrik für einzigartige Maschinen

Die CHIRON Precision Factory, mit 34,5 Mio. Euro die größte Einzelinvestition in der Firmengeschichte, bietet seit August 2019 beste und vor allem sehr stabile Rahmenbedingungen für den Bau von bis zu 400 Werkzeugmaschinen pro Jahr. Aktuell entstehen in Neuhausen ob Eck die CHIRON-Baureihen die bewährten Baureihen 15 und 18 sowie die beiden neuen Baureihen 16 und 25. Demnächst beginnt die Montage der Baureihe 22, die sich ideal zum präzisen, dynamischen Bearbeiten großer Bauteile in den Bereichen Automotive und Feinmechanik eignet.

Optimierte Montage- und Logistikprozesse für verkürzte Lieferzeiten

Die Bearbeitungszentren, die in der CHIRON Precision Factory gebaut werden, zeichnen sich nicht nur durch höchste Präzision aus, sie sind auch schneller verfügbar. Die Maschinen entstehen in Clustermontage – ein Team, eine Maschine – in kürzeren Zyklen. Pro Auftrag werden durch die optimierte Abwicklung zwei bis drei Wochen gespart, Kunden können schneller mit der Produktion starten. Und, dank Prozesssimulation im Vorfeld, auch besser: Alle Bearbeitungen, die später an der Maschine erfolgen, können schon in der Precision Factory programmiert, simuliert und optimiert werden.

CHIRON Campus am Standort Neuhausen

Dass CHIRON die Herausforderungen der Zukunft angenommen und verstanden hat, zeigt sich nicht nur an der Precision Factory selbst, sondern auch an ihrer Realisierung. Vom ersten Spatenstich bis zur Einweihung vergingen nur 15 Monate, das zukunftsweisende Projekt wurde im vorgegebenen Zeit- und Kostenrahmen erfolgreich fertiggestellt.

Die ebenfalls neue, zentrale Logistik am Standort Neuhausen verbindet die CHIRON Precision Factory mit den bestehenden Montagehallen zum CHIRON Campus.

»Dem aktuell schwierigen Marktumfeld wirken wir mit modernsten Maschinen und gesteigerter Produktivität entgegen. Damit sind wir nachhaltig wettbewerbsfähig und können unsere Position in den aktuellen Wachstumsbranchen Luftfahrt und Medizintechnik weiter ausbauen.«
Bernd Hilgarth
CHIRON-Geschäftsführer Vertrieb

Die CHIRON Precision Factory in vollem Glanz

CHIRON Precision Factory - Fakten

Bauzeit

Juli 2018 bis September 2019 (schlüsselfertig)

Eckdaten Gebäude

  • Kapazität: max. 400 Maschinen/Jahr
  • Fläche Produktion: 9.000m²
  • Fläche Logistik: 2.500 m²
  • Fläche Büro: 2.200 m²
  • Gesamtfläche Neubau: 13.700 m²
  • Gesamtfläche Bestand: 17.000 m²

Layout

  • Materialflussoptimiert mit Logistik-Spine für alle Menschen- und Materialströme
  • Zentralisierte Endmontagen, technische Büros und Logistikflächen
  • Zentrale Kommissionierung von Maschinen und Anlagen

Gebäudetechnik

  • Betonkernaktivierung für gleichmäßige und genaue Temperierung
  • Nutzen der Maschinenabwärme
  • Lüftungsanlagen mit Wärmerückgewinnung
  • LED-Beleuchtung
  • Gesamtenergiebedarf 70 kWh pro m² und Jahr

Digitalisierung

  • Smart Factory Cockpit: Steuerung von Klimatisierung, Beleuchtung und Kamerasystemen
  • Digitale Assistenzsysteme in der Montage
  • Berührungslose Logistikbuchungen
  • Digitale Qualitätsprüfung und -sicherung (»Digitaler Fingerabdruck«)
Bild: Matthias Keller

Matthias Keller, top im Beruf und auf dem Board

Matthias Keller, Leiter Technische Applikation bei CHIRON, ist überzeugt: Wer erfolgreich sein will, braucht eine positive Einstellung, ein starkes Team an seiner Seite und die Bereitschaft, mehr zu leisten. So betreibt er auch seine sportliche Karriere als Snowboarder im A-Kader des Team Deutschland Paralympics.

Herr Keller, Sie haben 1998 Ihre Ausbildung zum Industriemechaniker Geräte und Feinwerktechnik abgeschlossen und leiten seit 2019 den Bereich Technische Applikation. Zudem sind Sie seit 2017 Para Snowboarder. Gibt es Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen dem Vorgesetzten und dem Snowboarder?

Ja, eine ganze Menge: Es ist immer von Vorteil, einen kühlen Kopf zu bewahren – ob im beruflichen Alltag, im Weltcup oder beim Tourengehen. Ich gehe an alles überlegt heran, schaue mir die Fakten genau an. Ich finde, nur so kann man fundierte und richtige Entscheidungen treffen. Alles andere wäre, ob allein im Gelände oder als Führungskraft mit Verantwortung für mein Team, ziemlich fahrlässig.

Wie würden Sie Ihre Rolle als Führungskraft beschreiben, was ist für Sie besonders wichtig und von wem lassen Sie sich inspirieren?

Loyalität, ein fairer Umgang miteinander und ein ausgeprägter Teamspirit. Das hat mein früherer Vorgesetzter jeden Tag vorgelebt, und das versuche ich fortzuführen. Zudem sehe ich mich als »Guide«, der alles und alle in die richtige Richtung lenkt, damit etwas Gutes dabei herauskommt. Wichtig ist mir auch, dass sich jeder mit seinen Aufgaben identifiziert und an neue Herausforderungen positiv herangeht.

Ihr Motto ist »Die beste Aussicht kommt nach dem härtesten Anstieg.« Können Sie das etwas ausführen?

Nun, ich hatte einen schweren Motorradunfall, ein Unterschenkel musste amputiert werden. Der Umgang damit war und ist eine große Herausforderung, dadurch hat sich vieles verändert. Aber ich weiß jetzt, was man erreichen kann, wenn man seine Ziele konsequent verfolgt. Das motiviert mich auch als Führungskraft. Ich sehe keine Schwierigkeiten, sondern neue Möglichkeiten.

Eine dieser Möglichkeiten abseits von CHIRON ist das Snowboarden im Team Deutschland Paralympics. Welche Ziele möchten Sie sportlich erreichen? 

Die Konkurrenz ist stark, einige Länder investieren viel Geld, die Athleten sind zum großen Teil Profis. Team D ist erst nach den letzten Paralympics entstanden. Das Budget ist sehr klein, alle Athleten und Betreuer sind berufstätig, daher nehmen wir nur an einzelnen Rennen teil. Dennoch wollen wir natürlich vorn mitmischen, ein Platz unter den Top 10 kann es schon sein. Und natürlich möchten wir alle zu den Paralympics 2022 nach Peking.

Para Snowboard

Matthias Keller startet in der Klasse Lower Limb 2 (Beeinträchtigung der unteren Extremitäten) in zwei Disziplinen: SnowboardCross (SBX)und Banked Slalom.

Beim SBX fährt jeder Athlet zunächst allein gegen die Zeit, ab dem Achtelfinale geht es Mann gegen Mann. Die Strecke beinhaltet Renn- und Freestyle-Elemente. Beim Banked Slalom fahren die Snowboarder auf bis zu 35 Prozent steilen Hängen in einem mit Steilkurven präparierten Kurs. Alle Teilnehmer kämpfen zweimal gegen die Zeit, der schnellste Lauf zählt.

Wie bringen Sie Training, Job und Privatleben unter einen Hut? Das klingt echt sportlich …

Ich setze Prioritäten und fokussiere mich aufs Wesentliche. Der berufliche Alltag ist intensiv, sicher, aber der Sport ist für mich ein perfekter Ausgleich. Ich sehe alle Aufgaben, die sich mir stellen, als Chance, besser zu werden.

Was treibt Sie neben der sportlichen Herangehensweise an?

Das Leben selbst ist die größte Motivation. Es gibt so viele schöne Momente, die ich mir nach der Amputation wieder »erarbeitet« habe. Zum Beispiel das Gefühl, auf einem Gipfel zu stehen, unbeschreiblich! Der Weg nach oben mag hart sein, aber es lohnt sich, immer. Jeder Tag hat das Zeug dazu, ein guter Tag zu werden. Im Sport, privat und im Beruf.

Mehr zum deutschen Para Snowboard Team unter: 

https://www.teamdeutschland-paralympics.de/de/athleten.html

Matthias Keller im Wettkampfmodus beim Weltcup. Bild: Luc Percival Photography
Matthias Keller im Wettkampfmodus beim Weltcup. Bild: Luc Percival Photography

Berufliche Stationen im Überblick


1998    Abschluss der Ausbildung zum Industriemechaniker bei CHIRON als Jahrgangsbester

2001    Mitarbeiter in der Fertigung

2003    Zivildienst beim DRK Rettungsdienst

2004    Anwendungstechniker in der Applikation bei CHIRON

2008    Teamleiter Applikationstechnik

2015    Leiter Applikationstechnik

2019    Leiter Applikation

Bild: © de.signbar

Daumen hoch für viele Follower!

Und täglich werden es mehr: Nach knapp zwei Jahren hat die »Fangemeinde« der CHIRON Group auf LinkedIn mittlerweile die 3500 überschritten und geht auf 4000 zu.

Jeden Tag nutzen immer mehr LinkedIn-User die Möglichkeit, sich schnell, kompakt und topaktuell zu informieren. Über Messen und Events, über die CHIRON Group, die Aktivitäten der Gesellschaften und Vertretungen weltweit, über Ausbildung und Karriere. Und natürlich über die Neuheiten bei Produkten und Dienstleistungen.

Zum Beispiel über die neue Baureihe 22, zu der gerade eine Social Media-Kampagne gestartet ist. Projektbeteiligte geben Einblick in ihre ganz persönlichen Erfahrungen und Herausforderungen, die sie im Entwicklungsprozess hatten.

Ihnen gefällt, was wir auf LinkedIn posten? Dann sprechen Sie mit und über uns, bewerten Sie die Beiträge, kommentieren Sie – wir freuen uns über Ihre Beteiligung.

Sie wollen Teil unseres Netzwerks werden? Dann machen Sie einfach »einen Haken dran«, folgen Sie uns auf LinkedIn:

Und brandneu: seit Februar finden Sie uns auch auf Instagram: